A strong car charger for an electric car matches your available outlet and charging speed needs, making these picks useful for home charging, travel, or backup. The lineup ranges from 120V Level 1 models to 240V Level 2 stations, with portable and wall-mounted formats, J1772 connectors, and output options up to 48A. EVDANCE Level 2 40A Portable EV Charger leads for combining 9.6kW output, a 25-foot cable, adjustable current, and a NEMA 14-50P plug in a portable unit.
Other options add app controls, higher stated amperage, or lower-power charging for a standard household outlet. Check your vehicle connector, electrical circuit, and installation requirements before choosing: a charger’s maximum rating does not guarantee your home can supply it.
EVDANCE Level 2 40A Portable EV Charger is the best overall choice in this lineup because it combines 240V, 40A, and 9.6kW output with a 25-foot cable and NEMA 14-50P plug. Its adjustable current and timing delay add useful control, while its portable format suits drivers who want a Level 2 charger they can move. Confirm your circuit supports its requirements and that your vehicle uses J1772 before buying.
Our Top Picks

EVDANCE Level 2 40A Portable EV Charger
Its 240V, 40A, 9.6kW output, 25-foot cable, NEMA 14-50P plug, adjustable current, and timing delay make it a versatile portable Level 2 option.
View on Amazon
Best Smart HardwiredThis 50A hardwired J1772 station pairs Level 2 charging with app controls, charging data, reminders, and smart-home connections; Wi-Fi is needed for some features.
View on Amazon
Best Wall-MountedThe J1772 wall station is rated 40A and uses a 240V NEMA 14-50 connection, suiting drivers seeking a dedicated home Level 2 setup.
View on Amazon- Highest Capacity IYILO 48A Level 2 Charger
- Best App-Controlled Portable AIMILER 32A Level 2 Charger
Compare the chargers by setup, power, and features
| # | Product | Input Voltage | Weight | Dimensions | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 1. EVDANCE Level 2 40A Portable EV ChargerBest Overall | — | 11.59 lb | — | View on Amazon |
| 2 | 2. ChargePoint HomeFlexBest Smart Hardwired | 240 V | 13.8 lb | 7.06"D x 11.19"W x 7.07"H | View on Amazon |
| 3 | 3. EVIQO 40A Wall ChargerBest Wall-Mounted | — | 21 lb | 4.72 x 6.3 x 1.97 in | View on Amazon |
| 4 | 4. IYILO 48A Level 2 ChargerHighest Capacity | — | 13.45 lb | 9.8 x 8.7 x 4.4 in | View on Amazon |
| 5 | 5. AIMILER 32A Level 2 ChargerBest App-Controlled Portable | 240 V | 5 g | — | View on Amazon |
| 6 | 6. EVDANCE Level 1 and 2 ChargerDual-outlet portable flexibility | — | 7 lb | 8 x 3.5 x 25 in | View on Amazon |
| 7 | 7. eTimxon 16A Portable EV ChargerPortable dual-voltage backup charging | 240 V | — | 12"D x 16"W x 5"H | View on Amazon |
| 8 | 8. Lectron Level 1 EV ChargerSimple 120V home charging | 120 V | 2.93 kg | — | View on Amazon |
| 9 | 9. Toptoo 16A Portable EV ChargerDisplay-led household outlet charging | 110 V | — | — | View on Amazon |
| 10 | 10. Grasside Level 1 and 2 ChargerAdjustable-current portable charging | — | 7.41 lb | — | View on Amazon |
Detailed Reviews: Best Car Chargers For Electric Cars

#1 · Best Overall
1. EVDANCE Level 2 40A Portable EV Charger
- Weight: 11.59 lb
Best for: High-output portable home charging.
Why it ranks #1: Its 240V, 40A, 9.6kW output, 25-foot cable, NEMA 14-50P plug, adjustable current, and timing delay make it a versatile portable Level 2 option.
A 40-amp, 9.6-kW output gives the EVDANCE Level 2 charger a higher-power option for home charging, while its NEMA 14-50P plug keeps the setup portable. The 25-foot cable adds reach between the outlet and vehicle, and adjustable current and delay settings offer control over charging.
The 240-volt, 40-amp specification and 9.6-kW rating suit buyers seeking a higher-output Level 2 portable charger. Its NEMA 14-50P connection identifies the outlet style the setup uses, while the 25-foot cable can help reach a parked vehicle farther from that outlet. Adjustable current and timing delay provide charging controls without relying on a stated app. The J1772 connector targets compatible BEVs and PHEVs, so connector type is an important part of vehicle fit.
- 40A, 240V charging with 9.6-kW output
- NEMA 14-50P plug
- 25-foot cable
- Adjustable current and timing delay
- The J1772 connector limits direct compatibility with vehicles that use another connector.
Skip it if you need app-based controls; ChargePoint HomeFlex adds mobile-app management and smart-home connections.
This fits J1772 BEV and PHEV owners who want a portable, 40-amp Level 2 unit with a long cable and adjustable timing. Check that a NEMA 14-50 outlet and the J1772 connector suit your setup.
Full product details
| Brand | EVDANCE |
|---|---|
| Item Weight | 11.59 pounds |
| Item model number | EV-ACS4002U |
| Manufacturer | Shenzhen YongChuangCheng Technology Co., Limited |
| Part Number | EV-ACS4002U |
| Model | EV Charger |
| Package Dimensions | 17.01 x 13.46 x 5.2 inches |
| Wattage | 9600 watts |

#2 · Best Smart Hardwired
2. ChargePoint HomeFlex
- Input Voltage: 240 V
- Weight: 13.8 lb
- Dimensions: 7.06"D x 11.19"W x 7.07"H
Best for: App-managed hardwired home charging.
Why it ranks #2: This 50A hardwired J1772 station pairs Level 2 charging with app controls, charging data, reminders, and smart-home connections; Wi-Fi is needed for some features.
ChargePoint’s mobile app adds control, reminders, charging data, and station finding to this hardwired 50-amp Level 2 charger. That combination suits owners who want to manage home charging from a smartphone and use the same app to locate public charging stations across North America.
The 50-amp, 240-volt HomeFlex is a hardwired J1772 station, a fit for buyers planning a fixed home installation rather than a plug-in portable setup. Through the ChargePoint app, users can manage reminders, view charging information, connect to smart-home devices, and find stations. Widgets can show nearby locations without opening the app, while Apple CarPlay and Android Auto access supports in-car use. Wi-Fi is needed for certain features, so app-dependent workflows rely on connectivity.
- 50A, 240V Level 2 output
- Hardwired installation
- App controls, reminders, and charging data
- App station finding with widget, CarPlay, and Android Auto support
- Hardwired installation does not offer the plug-in portability of a charger with a NEMA plug.
Skip it if you need a portable NEMA 14-50 setup; EVDANCE’s 40A charger has a NEMA 14-50P plug and 25-foot cable.
Choose HomeFlex if you want hardwired home charging with app-based management and station finding. Its J1772 connector and hardwired format are key fit considerations; Wi-Fi is required for certain app features.
Full product details
| Brand | ChargePoint |
|---|---|
| Color | Grey Hardwired (J1772)-Non Tesla |
| Compatible Devices | Smartphones |
| Input Voltage | 240 volts |
| Dimensions | 7.06"D x 11.19"W x 7.07"H |
| Item Weight | 13.8 pounds |
| Manufacturer | ChargePoint |
| Model Number | 99-003890-11 |
| Output Voltage | 240 volts_of_alternating_current |
| Warranty Description | 3 year manufacturer warranty |
Listed on Amazon as: ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Fast Charger, J1772, Smart, Hardwired, 50A
View on Amazon
#3 · Best Wall-Mounted
3. EVIQO 40A Wall Charger
- Weight: 21 lb
- Dimensions: 4.72 x 6.3 x 1.97 in
Best for: Fixed 40A NEMA 14-50 charging.
Why it ranks #3: The J1772 wall station is rated 40A and uses a 240V NEMA 14-50 connection, suiting drivers seeking a dedicated home Level 2 setup.
EVIQO pairs a 40-amp rating with a NEMA 14-50 connection in a 240-volt wall charging station. That combination targets J1772 vehicle owners seeking a fixed Level 2 home setup using the specified outlet, rather than a charger described as portable or hardwired.
The stated 40A and 240V specifications make this a Level 2 option for a home charging location, while the NEMA 14-50 designation clarifies the plug connection to plan around. Its J1772 connector identifies the vehicle interface, so compatibility depends on the car using that standard. As a wall charging station, it is positioned for a regular location rather than a travel-oriented workflow. The supplied details do not list a cable length or smart controls, so those should not drive the choice based on this listing.
- 40A charging rating
- 240V operation
- NEMA 14-50 connection
- J1772 connector
- The listing provides no cable-length specification for judging reach from outlet to vehicle.
Skip it if you want app controls and a stated 25-foot cable; AIMILER’s 32A charger lists Wi-Fi, an app, and that cable length.
Consider this EVIQO for a J1772 vehicle and a home location planned around a 240V NEMA 14-50 connection. The supplied listing identifies its charging rating, but not cable reach or app controls.
Full product details
| Brand | EVIQO |
|---|---|
| Item Weight | 21 pounds |
| Item model number | EVIPOWER-2 |
| Manufacturer | EVIQO |
| Part Number | EVIPOWER2 |
| Model | EVIPOWER-2 |
| Dimensions | 4.72 x 6.3 x 1.97 inches |
Listed on Amazon as: EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 40A NEMA 14-50 – 240V Wall Charging Station
View on Amazon
#4 · Highest Capacity
4. IYILO 48A Level 2 Charger
- Weight: 13.45 lb
- Dimensions: 9.8 x 8.7 x 4.4 in
Best for: Higher-current home charging.
Why it ranks #4: Its listed 48A and 11.5kW output are the highest in this group, with UL 2594, ETL, and Energy Star stated in the product title.
The IYILO charger lists 48 amps and 11.5 kW at 240 volts, making its higher-current specification the central reason to consider it for Level 2 charging. UL 2594, ETL, and Energy Star are also named certifications, providing concrete standards and certification details in the listing.
For buyers comparing charging capacity, the listed 48A and 11.5-kW figures identify this as a higher-output Level 2 option operating at 240V. UL 2594, ETL, and Energy Star are specified certifications, useful details when reviewing product credentials. The listing also describes broad compatibility and flexibility for private owners, fleet operators, and enterprise distributors, though it does not state a connector or plug type in the supplied facts. Confirming the actual vehicle interface and installation arrangement is therefore central to evaluating fit.
- 48A output rating
- 11.5-kW capacity
- 240V operation
- UL 2594, ETL, and Energy Star listed
- The supplied details do not identify a connector or plug type, limiting assessment of vehicle and outlet fit.
Skip it if you need a listed J1772 connector and NEMA 14-50 plug; AIMILER’s 32A charger specifies both.
This is for buyers prioritizing a listed 48A, 11.5-kW Level 2 rating and named certifications. Review connector and installation fit carefully, since those details are not provided in the supplied listing facts.
Full product details
| Brand | IYILO |
|---|---|
| Item Weight | 13.45 pounds |
| Item model number | IYILO-RA40 |
| Manufacturer | EVRA Energy, LLC |
| Part Number | IYILO-RA48 |
| Model | IYILO-RA48 EV Charger |
| Dimensions | 9.8 x 8.7 x 4.4 inches |
Listed on Amazon as: Level 2 EV Charger, 48Amp/11.5KW/240V, UL 2594, ETL & Energy Star
View on Amazon
#5 · Best App-Controlled Portable
5. AIMILER 32A Level 2 Charger
- Input Voltage: 240 V
- Weight: 5 g
Best for: App-connected 32A home charging.
Why it ranks #5: This portable 32A, 240V charger has a 25-foot cable, NEMA 14-50P plug, Wi-Fi app, ETL certification, and a stated three-year warranty.
A 32-amp rating and Wi-Fi app control give the AIMILER Level 2 charger a mix of charging capacity and connected management. Its NEMA 14-50P plug and 25-foot cable frame it as a portable home option for North American EVs and plug-in hybrids using J1772.
The 220V–240V input and 32A rating establish the charger’s Level 2 operating range, while its NEMA 14-50P plug identifies the outlet needed for that connection. Wi-Fi app functionality adds a connected control route, although the supplied details do not specify particular app functions. With a 25-foot cable and portable format, the charger can serve a home parking position without being described as hardwired. Compatibility is listed for North American EVs and PHEVs; the J1772 connector remains a key vehicle-fit check.
- 32A Level 2 charging
- 220V–240V input
- Wi-Fi app functionality
- NEMA 14-50P plug and 25-foot cable
- Its 32A rating is below the 48A rating listed for the IYILO charger.
Skip it if you want a listed 48A rating; IYILO’s 48Amp Level 2 EV Charger specifies 48A and 11.5kW.
Pick AIMILER if a portable NEMA 14-50 home charger with app functionality and a 25-foot cable matches your routine. Its 32A rating and J1772 vehicle interface define the key fit boundaries.
Full product details
| Brand | AIMILER |
|---|---|
| Color | Black |
| Compatible Devices | Electric Vehicles (EVs) and Plug-in Hybrid Electric Vehicles (PHEVs) sold in North America |
| Input Voltage | 240 volts |
| Item Weight | 5 g |
| Manufacturer | AIMILER |
| Model Number | ZA05-U007KXX-XXXX |
| Output Voltage | 240 volts |
| Warranty Description | 3-year warranty |

#6
6. EVDANCE Level 1 and 2 Charger
- Weight: 7 lb
- Dimensions: 8 x 3.5 x 25 in
Best for: Dual-outlet portable flexibility.
Why it ranks #6: A 25-foot cable and NEMA 5-15 and 6-20 plugs support 12A at 120V or 16A at 240V, offering flexible portable charging.
The EVDANCE portable charger supports both 120-volt, 12-amp Level 1 and 240-volt, 16-amp Level 2 charging, letting its owner use different household outlet types. Its 25-foot cable extends that flexibility to vehicle placement, while the J1772 connection serves compatible EVs and plug-in hybrids.
Two plug standards give this charger distinct outlet options: NEMA 5-15 for 120V Level 1 and NEMA 6-20 for 240V Level 2. That makes the unit useful across setups with either supported outlet, without claiming compatibility with other receptacles. The 25-foot cable can bridge distance between an outlet and the parked vehicle, and the portable format is suited to moving the charger between locations. Its maximum listed current is 16A, so buyers should weigh that limit against their charging needs.
- Supports 12A at 120V Level 1
- Supports 16A at 240V Level 2
- NEMA 5-15 and NEMA 6-20 plug options
- 25-foot cable and J1772 connector
- Its 16A maximum is lower than the 40A output of EVDANCE’s EV Charger 40Amp.
Skip it if you want 40A charging from a NEMA 14-50 outlet; EVDANCE’s EV Charger 40Amp offers that higher-output setup.
This suits J1772 EV and PHEV owners who need one portable charger for supported 120V and 240V outlets. Its 16A maximum and NEMA 5-15 or 6-20 connections define the charging and outlet fit.
Full product details
| Brand | EVDANCE |
|---|---|
| Item Weight | 7 pounds |
| Item model number | EV-ACS1601U |
| Manufacturer | Shenzhen YongChuangCheng Technology Co., Limited |
| Part Number | EV-ACS1601U |
| Model | 1x Level 1 12A(NEMA 5-15) /Level 2 16A(NEMA 6-20) Portable EV Charger |
| Dimensions | 8 x 3.5 x 25 inches |
| Special Features | Fast Charging |
| Wattage | 3.84 KW |

#7
7. eTimxon 16A Portable EV Charger
- Input Voltage: 240 V
- Dimensions: 12"D x 16"W x 5"H
Best for: Portable dual-voltage backup charging.
Why it ranks #7: Its 16A, 3.84kW Level 2 rating, 25-foot cable, NEMA 6-20 plug, and NEMA 5-15 adapter cover two outlet formats for J1772 cars.
The eTimxon charger combines a NEMA 6-20 plug with a NEMA 5-15 adapter, giving its 16-amp portable design access to listed 240V and 110V outlet options. A 25-foot cable adds reach, making the configuration relevant for J1772 drivers who want an outlet-flexible charger.
At 240V and 16A, the charger is rated for 3.84 kW; the listing says this is approximately four times faster than 8A Level 1 chargers. The NEMA 6-20 plug and NEMA 5-15 adapter provide two stated outlet routes, which can help when charging locations differ. A 25-foot cable supports more flexible parking relative to the outlet. Its J1772 compatibility covers listed EVs and hybrids, with Tesla vehicles requiring an adapter.
- 16A, 240V, 3.84-kW output
- NEMA 6-20 plug and NEMA 5-15 adapter
- 25-foot charging cable
- J1772 compatibility for listed EVs and hybrids
- Tesla vehicles require an adapter for the listed J1772 compatibility.
Skip it if you need more than 16A; EVDANCE’s EV Charger 40Amp lists 40A output and a NEMA 14-50P plug.
This suits J1772 EV and hybrid owners who want portable charging with listed 110V and 240V outlet options. Its 16A ceiling and the Tesla adapter requirement are important limits to account for.
Full product details
| Brand | eTimxon |
|---|---|
| Color | Black |
| Compatible Devices | All EVs and hybrids with J1772 connector (except Tesla without adapter) |
| Input Voltage | 240 volts |
| Dimensions | 12"D x 16"W x 5"H |
| Manufacturer | Shenzhen Timxon ENERGY Technology Co., Ltd. |
| Model Number | T0-2P16A-A-X.X-M3-NACS |
| Output Voltage | 240 volts |
| Warranty Description | 1 Year Manufacturer |

#8
8. Lectron Level 1 EV Charger
- Input Voltage: 120 V
- Weight: 2.93 kg
Best for: Simple 120V home charging.
Why it ranks #8: The 120V, 15A unit includes a NEMA 5-15 plug, 16-foot cable, J1772 compatibility, ETL certification, and a stated two-year warranty.
Lectron’s 120-volt, 15-amp Level 1 charger uses a NEMA 5-15 plug, so it can connect to the listed household outlet standard without requiring a 240V charging specification. Its 16-foot extension cord and J1772 cable serve compatible vehicles in a portable setup.
The NEMA 5-15 plug and 120V input make this a Level 1 choice for J1772-compatible vehicles, with the connector compatibility listing spanning brands including GM, Ford, Hyundai, Kia, Rivian, Nissan, and Toyota. A 15A rating and 16-foot extension cord provide the core electrical and reach details for planning a parking spot. ETL certification is listed. The lower-voltage Level 1 format suits buyers who can work with that charging category, rather than those specifically seeking a 240V Level 2 unit.
- 120V Level 1 charging
- 15A rating
- NEMA 5-15 plug
- 16-foot extension cord with J1772 cable
- Its 120V Level 1 design is not a 240V Level 2 charging option.
Skip it if you need 240V Level 2 charging; EVDANCE’s EV Charger 40Amp lists 240V and 40A operation.
Lectron fits J1772 owners who want a portable Level 1 charger with a household NEMA 5-15 plug. Choose it only if 120V charging and its 16-foot cord suit your location and routine.
Full product details
| Brand | Lectron |
|---|---|
| Color | Black |
| Compatible Devices | All J1772 Compatible Vehicles (GM, Ford Hyundai, KIA, Rivian, Mercedes, Nissan, Polestar Toyota, Volvo etc) See more |
| Input Voltage | 120 volts |
| Item Dimensions | 15 x 3.8 x 11 inches |
| Item Weight | 2.93 kg |
| Dimensions | 15 x 3.8 x 11 inches |
| Manufacturer | Lectron |
| Model Number | LECHG5-15-15 ABLKUS |
| Warranty Description | 2 Year |
Listed on Amazon as: Lectron Level 1 EV Charger – ETL Certified, 120V, 15 Amp, 16 ft Extension Cord & J1772 Cable – Portable Electric Car Charger for J1772 EVs with NEMA 5-15 Plug
View on Amazon
#9
9. Toptoo 16A Portable EV Charger
- Input Voltage: 110 V
Best for: Display-led household outlet charging.
Why it ranks #9: This J1772 portable charger supports 110V to 240V and includes an LCD control box, current and timer buttons, and a household-outlet adapter.
A 1.8-inch LCD color display, current switch, and time-setting buttons give the Toptoo portable charger visible controls on its control box. Its 110V–240V range, 16A rating, and included household plug adapter address buyers seeking a J1772 charger for different listed household power options.
Toptoo lists 3.5 kW and 16A, with a 6-20P power plug and a US-standard adapter for Level 1 household outlets. That pairing supports choosing between the specified plug options, while the LCD and current-switch button make status and current adjustment accessible at the control box. Time-setting buttons add a stated timing control. The J1772 connection targets vehicles using that standard; buyers should match the available outlet and vehicle connector to the listed configuration before choosing it.
- 1.8-inch LCD color display
- Current switch and time-setting buttons
- 16A, 3.5-kW rating
- 6-20P plug plus US household outlet adapter
- Its listed 16A maximum is below the 32A rating of the AIMILER Level 2 charger.
Skip it if you need 32A charging; AIMILER’s Level 2 charger lists 32A, a NEMA 14-50P plug, and Wi-Fi app functionality.
This suits J1772 drivers who value a display, current adjustment, and timing buttons in a portable charger. The 16A rating and 6-20P or household-adapter outlet setup set its practical boundaries.
Full product details
| Brand | Toptoo |
|---|---|
| Color | Black |
| Compatible Devices | Electric Vehicles (J1772 standard) |
| Compatible Phone Models | J1772 |
| Compatible Power Plug Type | Type B – 3 pin (North American) |
| Included Components | Power plug, Cable, Control box, US standard plug adapter |
| Input Voltage | 110 volts |
| Manufacturer | Toptoo |
| Model Number | 16A -1.8 inch LCD Display |
| Wattage | 3.5 KW |
Listed on Amazon as: Level 1+2 Portable EV Charger for Electric Cars, 16A 3.5KW with 1.8 Inch LCD Display, 110V-240V, 6-20P Power Plug, J1772 Compatible, Applicable to Household Electricity
View on AmazonWhy it ranks #10: The listing identifies an 8–16A Level 1 and 2 J1772 charger with a 25-foot cord, but provides fewer verified electrical and plug details.
Grasside lists an adjustable 8–16A range and a 25-foot cord for this Level 1 and Level 2 J1772 charger. Those details offer current selection and extra cable reach for EV and plug-in hybrid owners, although the supplied information does not specify its plug or voltage.
The stated 8–16A range lets buyers consider a lower or higher listed current setting, while the 25-foot cord can help with parking positions farther from an outlet. Its Level 1 and Level 2 designation and J1772 connector identify the intended charging categories and vehicle interface. The title also names EVs and PHEVs as target vehicles. Because no voltage, plug type, or charging wattage is supplied, buyers cannot use this listing’s provided facts alone to confirm a particular outlet setup.
- Adjustable 8–16A range
- 25-foot cord
- Level 1 and Level 2 designation
- J1772 EV/PHEV compatibility stated in title
- The supplied details do not specify voltage or plug type for outlet planning.
Skip it if you need a stated 240V NEMA 14-50 setup; EVDANCE’s EV Charger 40Amp lists 240V and a NEMA 14-50P plug.
This may suit J1772 EV and PHEV owners who value adjustable current and a 25-foot cord. Treat outlet compatibility as a key boundary, since the supplied listing does not give a plug or voltage.
Full product details
| Brand | Grasside |
|---|---|
| Item Weight | 7.41 pounds |
| Item model number | ACP-J16-US-3025 |
| Manufacturer | Grasside |
| Package Dimensions | 16.22 x 12.71 x 4.84 inches |
Listed on Amazon as: 2026 New Level 1&2 EV Charger, 8-16Amp, 25FT Cord, J1772 EV/PHEVs
View on AmazonAvoid the outlet and connector mismatch
The most important mismatch to avoid is buying a charger whose plug or vehicle connector does not fit your setup. The listings include NEMA 14-50P on the EVDANCE Level 2 40A Portable EV Charger and AIMILER 32A Level 2 Charger, NEMA 6-20 on the EVDANCE Level 1 and 2 Charger and eTimxon 16A Portable EV Charger, and NEMA 5-15 on the Lectron Level 1 EV Charger. Those plugs are not interchangeable without the appropriate outlet or adapter, and the listed plug alone does not establish that a home circuit can support the charger’s full rating.
Vehicle connector compatibility also matters: several products specify J1772, while the ChargePoint HomeFlex listing distinguishes J1772 from NACS. Check your vehicle manual and the charger’s exact connector before ordering.
If your car needs an adapter, verify that separately rather than assuming one is included.
Portable convenience versus a fixed home station
Portable chargers trade a moveable format for the installation and placement considerations of a fixed station. The EVDANCE Level 2 40A Portable EV Charger and AIMILER 32A Level 2 Charger are portable models with 25-foot cables and NEMA 14-50P plugs; the EVIQO 40A Wall Charger is listed as a wall charging station, and ChargePoint HomeFlex is hardwired. That distinction can matter if you want to take a charger with you or use it at an existing compatible outlet, versus keeping charging equipment in one dedicated location.
A long cable can help with reach, but it does not eliminate the need for an appropriate outlet, circuit, or installation. Higher amperage also does not automatically mean faster charging in every setup: the vehicle and electrical supply constrain the usable rate.
Compare the charger rating with both before treating maximum output as your actual charging speed.
How to Choose an EV Car Charger
Charging level and amperage
Choose a charging level and amperage that match your routine and electrical supply. These products range from the Lectron Level 1 EV Charger at 120V and 15A to Level 2 choices including the AIMILER 32A Level 2 Charger, EVDANCE Level 2 40A Portable EV Charger, and IYILO 48A Level 2 Charger. The IYILO lists 11.5kW, while the EVDANCE lists 9.6kW; the lower-power EVDANCE Level 1 and 2 Charger offers 12A at 120V or 16A at 240V.
Drivers with a compatible Level 2 circuit may favour the higher-output models. A buyer relying on a standard household outlet may prefer a Level 1 option, while recognizing it delivers lower listed power.
Plug and installation format
Match the charger’s plug and installation style to the outlet or electrical work available where you charge. The lineup includes NEMA 14-50P portable models such as the EVDANCE Level 2 40A Portable EV Charger and the AIMILER 32A Level 2 Charger; NEMA 6-20 and NEMA 5-15 options appear on the EVDANCE Level 1 and 2 Charger and eTimxon 16A Portable EV Charger. ChargePoint HomeFlex is listed as hardwired, while the EVIQO 40A Wall Charger is a wall station with a NEMA 14-50 connection.
Portable models suit buyers who need a plug-in format. A hardwired or fixed wall unit suits a dedicated home location, but confirm installation requirements and circuit capacity before choosing.
Cable length and controls
Compare cable reach and control features against how you park and manage charging. Several portable chargers, including the EVDANCE Level 2 40A Portable EV Charger and AIMILER 32A Level 2 Charger, list 25-foot cables; the Lectron Level 1 EV Charger has a 16-foot cable. The EVDANCE Level 2 40A Portable EV Charger adds adjustable current and timing delay, while the ChargePoint HomeFlex offers app-based controls and charging information.
The Toptoo 16A Portable EV Charger includes an LCD display with current and time-setting buttons. A longer cable may better suit a parking position farther from an outlet, while buyers who want scheduling or remote management may prefer a model with listed controls.
Check the placement of the outlet and vehicle charge port rather than assuming the stated length will work in every parking arrangement.
Which EV car charger should you choose?
For a portable Level 2 charger with a 25-foot cable, 9.6kW output, and adjustable current, choose EVDANCE Level 2 40A Portable EV Charger. If you want a hardwired home station with app features and a listed 50A rating, consider ChargePoint HomeFlex. For a fixed wall station with a NEMA 14-50 connection, EVIQO 40A Wall Charger is a straightforward fit; for the highest stated output, IYILO 48A Level 2 Charger lists 11.5kW.
Drivers seeking app control in a portable 32A format can look at AIMILER 32A Level 2 Charger. If a standard household outlet is central to your setup, compare Lectron Level 1 EV Charger or EVDANCE Level 1 and 2 Charger.
Confirm vehicle compatibility and electrical requirements before purchase.
Related Buying Guides
Frequently Asked Questions
Will a J1772 charger work with my electric car, or do I need an adapter?
A J1772 charger works directly with a vehicle that has a J1772 charging inlet. If your car has a different inlet, you may need a compatible adapter; check your vehicle’s manual and the charger’s compatibility information before buying. Several chargers in this lineup specify J1772 compatibility, but that does not establish compatibility with every vehicle.
Can I plug a Level 2 charger into my existing outlet, or do I need an electrician?
It depends on the charger’s plug and your outlet and circuit. Some listed Level 2 models use a NEMA 14-50P or NEMA 6-20 plug, while another is hardwired. Check that your electrical setup matches the charger’s requirements; consult a qualified electrician if you are unsure or need a new circuit or hardwiring.
How much charging time should I expect from a Level 1 charger compared with Level 2?
Level 2 generally charges faster than Level 1, but the time depends on the charger’s output, your vehicle’s charging capability, and how much energy the battery needs. The lineup includes Level 1 options and Level 2 models with different stated outputs. Check your vehicle documentation and charger details for a useful estimate.
What should I check before choosing a portable charger?
Confirm that your vehicle uses the charger’s connector and that your outlet and circuit support its plug and electrical requirements. Then compare the cable length, stated output, and any controls you need, such as adjustable current or a timing delay. A portable format can be moved, but it still needs a compatible power source.
Should I choose a hardwired charger or a plug-in model?
Choose based on your installation and how you plan to use the charger. The lineup includes a hardwired home station and plug-in models; plug-in options require a matching outlet, while hardwired installation requires appropriate electrical work. Compare the connection type and stated features, and confirm your setup can support the selected charger.
Final Words
For a portable Level 2 setup, the EVDANCE 40A model is the lineup’s best overall choice, with 240V, 9.6kW output, a 25-foot cable, and adjustable current. Choose ChargePoint HomeFlex if you prefer a hardwired station with app features, or compare the listed Level 1 options when a household outlet is central to your setup. Before deciding, verify vehicle connector compatibility and confirm your electrical circuit and outlet meet the charger’s requirements.


